Sunday, January 18, 2015

A power exchange on the political stage

The Phoenix Candidate
by Heidi Joy Tretheway
a Contemporary Romance
 Buy Links:

Fans of Scandal, House of Cards, and The Good Wife will love Grace Colton…

Congresswoman Grace Colton is the most famous woman in politics—and the loneliest—until a drawling, sexy stranger offers her one night, no strings and no regrets.

Grace wakes to an empty hotel room and a phone call: the dark horse for the 2016 presidential election, Senator Shep Conover, is considering her as his vice presidential running mate. But first, Grace must be vetted and coached by Shep’s political consultant, Jared Rankin, who already knows too many intimate details about her. He’s Mr. One-Night Stand.

Grace is torn: Play nice with Jared to join the senator’s ticket, or play hardball and back the slick frontrunner? Grace must decide where her loyalties lie and if she can trust Jared with her future—and her heart.
The Phoenix Candidate is an erotic romance set in the world of presidential election politics. Recommended for mature readers due to sharp dialogue, wickedly hot sex, and a few delicious taboos. This full-length novel is first in a series and can be read as a standalone.

Review by pearls

He's a political consultant grooming her for a political campaign, but she will not be controlled.  They both crave power and freedom, so the power exchanges that happen here are significant to who they are and what they are willing to do in the name of love.  Grace is the Phoenix candidate because her story is one of pain and sorrow; however, she has risen from those ashes over and over again.  Can she continue to rise or will she reach a breaking point as the political games threaten to squash her spirit?  I found Grace to be the kind of politician I wish we had more of:  she sticks to her principles and her promises to her supporters despite the personal costs.  While she enters the game quite naïve, she learns fast. In contrast, Jared is the jaded game-player who learns to live again, rather than just going through the motions.  I especially liked the addition of the forum on women in leadership--giving the novel some meat and allowing Grace to grow beyond her grooming.

 Heidi Joy Tretheway Bio:
Heidi Joy is a sucker for campfires, craft cocktails, and steamy romance in books and real life. She sings along with musicals (badly), craves French carbs, and buys plane tickets the way some women buy shoes.
Her first career as a journalist took Heidi behind the scenes with politicians, rock stars, chefs, and detectives, all of whom inspire her stories. Heidi Joy is currently working on her eighth book from her home in Portland, Oregon.

She adores hearing from readers at


a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment